Saving Money to Save

Most of the personal finance books and blogs talk of saving money by being a smart and frugal shopper by using coupons, buying one get one free, perusing sales circulars or checking in to the merchants phone apps; but I have yet to read any advice on what to actually do with the amount of money that you save. If I just merely acknowledged that I saved half-off retail price on a pair of sneakers which is about a $40 savings then that’s one thing, but that just keeps the balance on my checking account higher by $40. I would probably just find another item to spend that $40 on since it is technically free right? Get more retail bang for my buck so to speak. Instead my hack strategy recommendation is to discipline yourself to sweep that $40 you save into your savings account.

Leave a Reply

